The National Scholarship Providers Association’s
“2015 Scholarship Provider of the Year”

2018 Annual Awards Reception


Over $1 Million dollars in Scholarships and Scholar Support Services Awarded to more than 100 Local Students


BOCA RATON, Fla. (June 8, 2018) - The George Snow Scholarship Fund hosted their Annual Awards Reception on Thursday, May 31st at 5:30 PM at the Mizner Park Cultural Arts Center. This event allows our donors and supporters to meet these special young people as well as recognize our donors and volunteers who have made 2018 the most successful year in our 36 year history. In 2018, the George Snow Scholarship Fund will make scholarship commitments of $1 million dollars to over 100 very deserving local scholars. We were fortunate to be able to host our Awards Reception with the help of generous sponsorships from the Steve Bagdan Charitable Foundation, Rita and Tom Head and the R.A. Ritter Foundation.  

“Our Awards Reception marks the culmination of a year’s worth of work by literally hundreds of our kind and generous supporters and volunteers. This night shows us the fruits of our labor and our donors get to meet the young people who will benefit from their efforts,” said President Tim Snow. “These awards are made possible through the through the hard work and generosity of our donors, volunteers, corporate and community partners.”

During the ceremony Snow Scholars received a medal and certificate. After the ceremony, each Snow Scholar received a duffel gift bag filled with items they can use while away at college. Students had the option to choose between a new Samsung or HP laptop computer, or a college supply stipend. Other goodies included a deluxe hand blender donated by Jarden Consumer Solutions of Boca Raton, a Microsoft Office Professional Productivity Suite donated by Microsoft Inc., and a backpack filled with school supplies donated by Spirit of Giving. Bar Charts donated quick reference charts on various subjects, Dr. Douglas A. Rolfe donated oral hygiene packs and Boca Raton Regional Hospital donated first aid kits. Additional items included a LED flash light keychain, a flash drive and a cooler. Overall, the gifts the Snow Scholars received were valued at over $800.00

In addition to making financial commitments, the Fund provides students with its innovative Scholar Support Services program. This started with a Snow Scholar Orientation on Wednesday, May 30th. Students heard from local experts as well current Snow Scholars and Alumni on a variety of topics that will enhance their college experience. 

The orientation covered surviving the first two weeks of school, mental health & managing stress/anxiety, life outside the classroom, campus safety, time management, study skills, developing a resume, becoming successful/giving back, and financial management. Other scholar support programs include the Emergency Fund Program, Monday’s Motivational Messages and the Computer and College Supply Initiative along with new programs such as our Senior Portrait Program and our “Snow Family App.” 

Each year the Fund recognizes one special supporter who represents volunteerism, generosity, commitment, and unselfishness; the award is known as the Robert S. Howell Spirit of Service Award. The ceremony ended with longtime supporter Paige Kornblue receiving this award.

About the George Snow Scholarship Fund: 
The George Snow Scholarship Fund is a nationally recognized Palm Beach County based 501(c)(3) public charity, dedicated to providing scholarships and support services to young men and women with financial need so they can build a better life through the pursuit of higher education. Since 1982, the organization has awarded over 8.2 million dollars in scholarship awards to over 1,600 promising Snow Scholars who have demonstrated an ongoing commitment to achieving their goals through hard work and a willingness to help themselves and others.

About the Robert S. Howell Spirit of Service Award:
In 2008, the George Snow Scholarship Fund and the Boca Raton Community lost a longtime friend and supporter, Bob Howell, to cancer. Bob Howell holds a special place in the history of the George Snow Scholarship Fund. He was a founding trustee of the Fund, serving on the fund’s organizational committee and later serving as Chairman of the Board. He was a major factor in the successes we have today.

Sponsors of Annual Awards Reception: Gold Sponsor: Steve Bagdan Charitable Foundation; Silver Sponsor: Rita and Tom Head and R.A. Ritter Foundation


Carlos Acosta
Holly Atkinson
Shopnil Awal
Katelyn Barnard
Hillary Barthelemy
Leilla Belony
Natalie Bergeron
Madai Bessard
Spencer Bredoff
Tyrese Brown
Brendan Camareno
Andrea Carriles
Aquanna Cartwright
Kerven Cassion
Elisa Castillo
Charles Charlestin
Dylan Combs
Jackson Destine
Jordan Devereaux
Sabrina Diniz
Renae Dobson
Cameron Duffy
Farah Dulorier
Deidra Edouard
Reginaldo Elie
Joseph Elisma
Williamson Emilcar
Angelique English
Enzo Ferrari
Jared Florio
George Frampton
Marissa Francis
Morgan Frederick
Sofia Friederwitzer
Nicolas Gallego
Rachel Gebeloff
Yolanda Guerra
Ledlyne Heriscar Vasquez
Jett Hollister
Michel Isaac
Kehtia Istache
Sefania Jacques
Woodley Jean-Baptiste
Christian Kenol
Shereen Lajeune
Emma Langley
Austin Lent
Dario Mendoza Loor
Alexander Lopez
Samantha Maldonado
Faith Maniti
Aleecia Marshall
Alexis McCain
Emmanuel McNeely
Elie Merisier
Mendie Michel
Claudina Moreau
AnaMichele Morejon
Rotchy Moricette
Shannon Moyel
Ivan Oliveira Neto
Keirten Nivol
Patricia Pernas Norman
Merana Paraison
Gia Prelli
Francis Rudder
Omar Saad
Neusha Saboorian
Brianna Sanchez
Christine Sanchez
Brianna Seaberg
Michael Simoes
Garsendy St. Fleur
Gabriella Suarez
Tamara Sydne
Cristina Timotei
Elizabeth Tortolini
Briana Valli
Cameren Williams
Georgia Williams
Abby Wolfe
Kayla Yarbrough
Joy Zheng
Arica Baldwin
Jackeline Bermudez
Gabriela  Caban
Jasmine Crudup
Latoya  Crudup
Maria Cuervo
Brittany Egger
Irma Francisco
Lindsay LeBlanc
Ricardo Lopez
Jonathan Martinez 
Matthew Merlo
Sara Morey
Christina Perez
Schoelcher Jean Baptiste
Christmie Nicolas
Gisell Rodriguez